ND Grad Questions

Draken

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.earthscape.110mb.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I wanna get an ND grad since i do alot of ladscape photography and i understand this will solve my blown out sky issue. But they come in 0.3, 0.6 and 0.9 so which one is for me? and how do i meter correctly in order to determine which one i use ? i a complete noob when it comes to Metering the scene so any help on how to do that would be awesome :p

cheers,

Mike. :D

Here's a read from Thom Hogan on filters in general, but he does speak of Grad NDs.

I can't find some other links I've seen before, but use the search function at the top right. There has been discussion on these filters. I'll bounce back if my memory returns. :biggrin:

Every 0.3 is 1 stop. It depends on the lighting conditions you encounter, but I'd guess that a 3 stop grad ND would be a good place to start. You may find that if you leave your camera in the default segmented metering mode that it does fine with the filter on. If not remove the filter and meter the foreground.

Every 0.3 is 1 stop. It depends on the lighting conditions you encounter, but I'd guess that a 3 stop grad ND would be a good place to start. You may find that if you leave your camera in the default segmented metering mode that it does fine with the filter on. If not remove the filter and meter the foreground.

so do i meter the foreground only ? or that and the sky ? im still confused lol

I would recommend the purchase of a . 3 and .6 or 1 and 2 stop ND grads, which will give you three stops if used together, but much more versatility than a single 3 stop on it's own. With respect to metering, always meter the scene without the filter, put the filter on, and expose. You may have to adjust a little bit either way, but that's the beauty of digital.