Near Objects always being out of focus!!

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by T1000, Jun 8, 2004.

1. T1000

T1000 TPF Noob!

Hi ALL!!

I am a newbie to photography, so I'm here to learn from u experts out there!!

I am trying hard to get a clear and nice shot of my Gundam Model kit. But whatever i do, I cant get the focus right. I am trying to do like a portrait shot of the whole Gundam Body and was like placing the model only several centimeters away from the lens. But no matter where I focus to, the object nearer to the lens always gets blurred. Can anyone drop me some hints as to how to take Model kits up close without blur images??

:cry:

2. MDowdey

MDowdey Guest

hi t!

depending on your camera's lens, you might not be able to focus that close. you should try one of two things...either a lens that has some type of macro feature, or a set of close up filters!!

matt

3. graigdavis

graigdavis TPF Noob!

Or if your shooting digital get as close as you can with it focused. Then crop the picture.

4. Rainman

Rainman TPF Noob!

If you are using a fairly simple point and shoot (can't change lenses) type camera your minimum focusing distance is probably 3-4 feet. Anything closer will always be out of focus. If it is a digital you may have what is called "macro" mode. On my little digital point and shoot the macro focusing range is 4-20 inches. Tell us about your camera, and we may be able to suggest some solutions.
    Regards,
    Raymond

5. paul rond

paul rond TPF Noob!

Sounds like you need to learn how to control your "depth of field" otherwise know as "hyperfocal distance" which will take you into new terratory and give you much more control over your images.