Necessary equipment for upcoming trip?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by gentry1242, Oct 23, 2009.

1. gentry1242

gentry1242 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am going to Europe in a couple months, and was curious to find out what would be considered "essential" lenses for the trip.

What I have: (just got everything 2 months ago)
    Nikon D90
    18-105mm VR Kit lens
    2 8GB Extreme 3 SD cards
    Tamrac Camera Bag with room for camera + lens and 2 extra lenses

I am a TPF noob and am relatively new to "real" photography in general. I have begun studying how the mechanics of cameras truly work, but am still pretty much in over my head at this point.

Thus far, my 18-105 lens has handled pretty much everything I have tried to do, except for three issues.
    First, I tried to focus on something closer than about 2 ft where it refused to take the picture. (not really applicable to my trip)
    The second issue occurred at dusk and early night where I was shooting my dog with no flash playing at the park. I first tried the auto settings and after playing with the settings for 30 minutes, could not eliminate the motion blur. (may be a problem if shooting something with action at low light)
    Third, a couple weeks ago while at the football game, I noticed my subjects did not fit the frame well at maximum zoom. (definately an issue if I want to capture something in the distance).

I am debating on whether to buy a Nikor 70-300mm VR lens for the longer range shots. I have been told that it is a "slow" lens that works best in good lighting, but for the price, you really can't do much better. The camera store said the next step up was around $2,000.