Need a bit of help with nighttime landscape shots without flash.

nuby

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Last night I was out with some friends grilling outdoors. Took some nice pictures but my camera (Canon 450D, standard 18-55mm lens) had some real trouble getting light, or contrast into some shots. They would be clearly visible by the eye, basicly just trees that were being shown on by light from a fire and were standing out from the background. Problem was though, every picture came out pure black. I tried a longer shutterspeed (15 sec. at one point), tried all the W/B settings. Nothing changed.
A buddy using a TZ7 made some excellent pictures however.
Is there another setting that helps get the proper lighting into the sensor?
Its my first SLR camera so Im really new to most of the settings.

Thanks in advance :)

Hope someone answers this for you since i was having the same problems when i bought my DSLR.

Sorry, not much help, but well, your not alone in your conundrum

Unless you left the lens cap on, there should have been a definite difference between normal shutter speeds and 15 seconds.

Hehe, I made sure of that ;).
Well what I dont get is how a TZ7 could get the better picture lighting with a snap shot.
I read somewhere that aparture can raise the light input but is more used for field of depth. Is that something to try?

You have a lot to learn. I'd love to type a big reply to help you out but this stuff has already been written about in great detail by people who can explain stuff better than I can. Search google for exposure basics and you'll find a wealth of information.

Ok thanks for the heads up guys, will get to reading asap.
Maybe I can contribute some nice pictures of my own then.

There are a lot more variables that you are telling us about.

Shutter speed, aperture and ISO all play a role in each and every exposure.
What mode were you in?

Can you post an example, hopefully along with the EXIF data?