kevindosi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.kevindosi.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone -
I'm a college student and I just signed up for a photography class, but I don't know anything about cameras (aside from which ones are pretty). Under the course description, it says this:
"STUDENTS MUST PROVIDE THEIR OWN 35-MM SINGLE-LENS REFLEX OR DIGITAL CAME RA THAT CAN BE OPERATED UNDER MANUAL MODE AND WITH OFF-CAMERA FLASH."
I really don't know what my options are. Obviously, I don't need a camera for a professional... but I don't exactly want a toy either. I love to travel and hope to travel a lot once I graduate, so I'd like to take this along with me. This is something I'd like to become good at, and I figure I'll have this camera for a while. That being said, I'm still a college student living off ramen, so I need something affordable (under $400). Can anyone give me some recommendations? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Well if you want something that's under $400 you're probably looking at a new film SLR or a used DSLR. Do you have a preference between the two?

I'd recommend wahtever you do go digital...easier to learn from your mistakes that way. pentax is a good choice for budget...and off camera flash..well...that's not likely to happen for your budget. Maybe your teacher can help you out. they usually are lenient on what you need.

Any DSLR will do fine, and any DSLR is not a toy. Some probably have smaller size than the others but all are capable of producing good picture, you still can receive great versatile learning curve even from the cheapest DSLR on market.

Now, an SLR camera body probably cheaper than a DSLR, but you still have to buy films to produce pictures, in the long run you'll end up spending much more than a nice memory card, maybe over the price of the Camera itself. I agree you should go with a DSLR first.