need a flash

C. Brian Kerr

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
As most of you know I am fairly new to trying to capture great images. before it was leave it in auto, point and shoot. I am now really learning and getting alot better. I love shooting wildlife, birds especially but working 70 hrs a week limits my time and having a flash would help me expand my horizons.

I can't afford new glass which is what i would like for birding, but since i cant afford it ( justify) i thought starting to learn more about flash photography would be a good logical step in my learning.

I shoot with a Nikon D7100 and it would need to be use the TTL capabilities of the camera as well as be able to be used off camera. I don't think going with the Nikon series is going to give me anything that a less expensive flash will except expense.

Your thoughts on this is highly appriciated.

I always recommend a first-party flash as someone's first speedlight simply because you are guaranteed 100% compatibility whereas units such as Yongnuo and Nissin, while good, might not always be as good. Have you checked your local Craig's List for a used SB700?

I always recommend a first-party flash as someone's first speedlight simply because you are guaranteed 100% compatibility whereas units such as Yongnuo and Nissin, while good, might not always be as good. Have you checked your local Craig's List for a used SB700?

not as of yet, but i will.

88flasher.gif

You said you needed a flash so here you go......:laugh2::laugh2::laugh2::laugh2::laugh2:

On the serious side, i would agree with iron on this. An OEM flash should give you complete compatibility with your camera.

88flasher.gif

You said you needed a flash so here you go......:laugh2::laugh2::laugh2::laugh2::laugh2:

On the serious side, i would agree with iron on this. An OEM flash should give you complete compatibility with your camera.