Need advice on backlit subjects

Radiant

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I think I'm in a bit of trouble here.

My history is as a landscape and figurative photography, so I don't have any experience using a flash to speak of.

Tomorrow I'll be shooting a wedding. The space is a lighting nightmare. There are no lights. One wall is a gigantic curved window. And the stage is placed directly in front of the window.

I did some test shooting during the rehearsal today, and found myself very unhappy with the results. Without a flash, I get little more than silhouettes. With the flash, I'm not getting much better. Focus is a bit soft and blurry in a number of the images, a cloudy glow obscures some of the features, and I'm getting some odd artifacting (blue/purple lines along edges of backlit figures)

As a studio photographer I'm used to having complete control over every lightsource, and avoiding flashes like the plague. Anyone have some advice to help me rescue this?

Other miscellaneous problems:
-Holding the flash in my left hand while shooting in my right seems to get me somewhat more flattering results. But that means I don't have the ability to zoom or adjust focus while shooting. Any pros want to give advice on how they handle flashes during the ceremony? I have a stand for the flash, but it's too large to use in front of the audience.