Need advice on camera to start in this new journey...

green_i_grl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone,

I have 3 beautiful kids and would love to "learn" how to take great pictures of them. I have good ideas but know nothing about cameras and need some advice on which camera to start off with. I need a digital one w/ option for different lenses. Pictures will be taken both outside and in- w/ lots of motion, and of course some still shots as well, all kids of different lightings too. Also, may I add I would like to spend as little as possible, since this is my first try at this stuff anyway- I'll upgrade later :wink:

Once I have "mastered" the art of potography I would eventually love to start doing this proffesionally, so some of these picture will become part of my portfolio.

Any advice regarding the camera to buy would be very appreciated.

Thank you all,
Melissa

1. Understanding Exposure, by Bryan Petersen. - 20 bucks

2. D80 camera body - 800 bucks

3. 50MM f/1.8 AF - 80-100 bucks.

Read the book first before you plunk down cash for the camera. I would also suggest The Complete Guide to Light and Lighting for Digital Photography, by Michael Freeman.

Well it sounds like to me that you are looking at a D40, used D50, or D80 from Nikon, or from Canon the XT or XTi, maybe even a used Rebel.

A price range that you are looking would help. But I would think its going to be at least around the $500 range for a dSLR with a lens.

first, how much do you have to spend?

you're gonna want an SLR- those range from $500-$4000 give or take but you can use differnent lenses with an SLR.
google digital SLRs and research what they're all about. go nikon or canon- seems to be what everyone has.
spend as much as you can, you'll thank yourself later!
also, get some books! again, depending on how much you have to spend, here is a great book but its about $80- PHOTOGRAPHY - Eighth Edition