Need advice on new camera choice for a newbie

MiniR55

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone,

I've been interested in photography since I was a kid but never really got around to making it serious. Always had 35mm SLRs and had alot of fun shooting. A few years ago I bought a top of the line (at the time) point and shoot and really enjoyed the shooting I did with that. I'm now ready to get into photography as a serious hobby and I'm researching all the choices. Of course, I would love to spend 5k on a professional camera but at this point it is completely unnecessary. I've narrowed my choices down to the Canon T6i and the Nikon D7100. My budget is <$1200 and both of these fit. I found good deals on both and I'm about to purchase. I've read many articles on the two and they seem to be pretty close in comparison. However, I am relatively new to the DSLR scene and new to serious photography. I plan on perhaps taking a class to get myself started. I love shooting nature, animals, and the outdoors. I've also considered taking some paid projects only to offset the price of the camera so the camera I choose needs to be conducive to that. I don't mind buying something 'too serious' for what I'm doing right now as this will grow into a more serious hobby for me. I'd like to hear any input you all might have on choosing one of these cameras (and anything else), it is all welcome and appreciated.

I'm a Nikon owner, so I recommend the Nikon D7100 with kit lens. Beware of the "extras" they often include with the kit, as most of the stuff is simply "filler" items that have limited long-term use. Please post links to each deal so we can see what all is included.

I'm a Nikon owner, so I recommend the Nikon D7100 with kit lens. Beware of the "extras" they often include with the kit, as most of the stuff is simply "filler" items that have limited long-term use. Please post links to each deal so we can see what all is included.