Need an advise on how to improve focus/increase clearness

yana_mae

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone, I am fairly new to the world of photography. I recently photographed my friend and acquired a problem which I hope you can give me an advise on how to fix. It seems to me that eyes are not clear enough, even though I thought that I were keeping eyes in focus. I was shooting with Tamron 24-70 2.8. Not sure if the problem is with the lens or myself, either or I will appreciate an advise on how to improve/fix it. Here is an example.
Thank you!

AADmzW3hAygth4QvylIwOguia

Attachments

• IMG_3444.b.jpg
    IMG_3444.b.jpg
    348.4 KB · Views: 211
  • IMG_3885 copy.jpg
    IMG_3885 copy.jpg
    471.2 KB · Views: 194
Images are not able to enlarge here to see better what I am saying... Eyes are not crispy clear. There is another image
IMG_3434.jpg

I looked at the shot of her sitting on the bench: along the edges of bright areas, I see green color fringing, which is chromatic abnerration. I ALSO see a very slight, overall softness with low contrast, which is what is called veiling glare. This is because this image was shot at f/2.8, and toward some backlighting. That zoom lens cannot handle being shot into strong light like that when wide-open. You are correct: these are not "crispy clear"; I would suggest that that lens needs to be stopped down two more full f/stops to be able to deliver better optical performance, more in line with what you are seeking. While it is not horrible, it is also nowhere near "good" optically: a LOT of strong color fringing, plus veiling glare that gives everything a slight,slight loss of contrast.