need food critiques!

nrois02

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My old boss needs his whole menu photographed and I have never done food before. He wants it to come off the grill and photograph it where the waiter/waitress's pick it up so the lighting isn't great but I need some help if anyone can give some on what I can do to make these better! He wants them for training purposes but then maybe a couple for the website. so any help would be great!

here are some I took today just trying a trial run.

DSC_0086-1.jpg

DSC_0094.jpg

DSC_0099.jpg

DSC_0106-1.jpg

DSC_0100.jpg

Last edited:
white balance a bit yellow.
distracting shiney reflections

touch brighter
touch whiter
touch more saturation

white balance
focus slightly more forward

white balance
focus more in forground
higher DOF
light more even (not just bright on the sauce)

more even light (not just bright on the dipping sauces again.

overall,
well setup and composed.
nice light style but a touch dark and uneven
focus a bit closer on the forground.
"im hungry though, so the effect is good haha"

thanks that helps!

I think you should make these all more vibrant and colorfull. Looking at these they don't seem too inticing to eat because of the flatness of the images.

ok would that be a thing to do in ps?

here, i tried the ones without big focus issues. used dodge to brighten up dark areas and punch up the highlights. then adjusted the colour of ecah part (lettuce meat cheese pepper tomato plate) individually.

oh man! im sorry, i just realize you have a no edit tag. do you mind if i post them here?

by all means go for it! i dont mind

i like your signature btw!

If you're open to help. I used Lightroom instead of Photoshop, just because Lightroom is more mainstream for photographs than Photoshop.