Need Help / Advice! Beginner

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by gokusays, Jun 3, 2008.

1. gokusays

gokusays TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi, I am new to TPF. I am looking for some advice on how to take quality / professional-looking pictures for my website.

In particular:

I want clean looking pictures that are typical of those found in product catalogs, i.e. pictures with clean backgrounds.

Does anyone know how to take quality professional looking pictures for websites? What suggestions do you have?

I'm using a digital camera with 3.5 Meg Pixels. Indoor room lighting. And Photoshop to remove backgrounds. But outcome is sloppy and the process is very tedious. Is it supposed to be like this???

Thanks!

2. MarcusM

MarcusM TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
  3. Sw1tchFX

Sw1tchFX TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    You can also do two plane lighting like this in your living room (this was shot in a dining room):

[​IMG]

You need more then just one light for it though.

4. Alfred D.

Alfred D. TPF Noob!

(Bold face and italicizing mine)

If you want professional looking photos you will need to either spend a lot of bucks, time, effort, and elbow grease on this project, or you will need to commission a real professional...
    As usual, it's a trade-off.

Get an up-to-date camera.

Get more light.
    If you're using a light tent, 2 equally powerful desk lamps is already enough.

No. Get the exposure right in the first place and you will 1) have a lot less to do in PP, and 2) you will get much better images.

Have fun!

5. tirediron

tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Go to your local library and get some books on product photoraphy, lighting, and exposure. The scope of the question you have asked is much to great to be fully (or even partly answered here).

6. Montana

Montana TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit