Need help, asking is it a good deal or a trap?!

tiennguyen63

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Im looking for a Nikon D7000 with lens 18-105. I just found this thread on kijiji: a man sells his Nikon D7000 and 18-105 for 600$ Canadian dollar. Shutter count is JUST 1030. Bought it 2.5 years ago, mint condition.
Is that too good to be true? Should i buy the Cam and lens? Im new to photography!!
If yes then what should i pay attention when checking the Cam?!
Thanks guys! I appreciate your advise :)

Not a real bargain..... just an average going price.

If you're not familiar with DSLRs, I'd take along a friend who is when you go to check it out.

I think it is pretty cheap. 600 CAD is just 450 usd included the 18-105! Also he bought it 2.5 years but the shutter count is just 1030 which is very low!

As a general rule, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Start by asking the person why they are selling it, and for the serial numbers of the lens & body. Call your local RCMP and see if they come up on the their hot sheet. Assuming that's all good, then suggest a meeting at a local coffee shop or similar. If the vendor says anything about the camera being somewhere else, or asking for a wire transfer payment, WALK AWAY.

Assuming it passes those tests, ensure that you've already at least skimmed through the manual (available on Nikon.ca) so that you can test the basic functionality. Look at the exterior carefully; if it's banged, scraped, etc, it's probalby been treated roughly. Walk away. Bring a memory card and do a series of test images check all modes. Does it focus correctly? Are the exposures correct? Is the lens clean? ....

There's a lot to check, but chances are if it's clean and operating and the seller isn't sketchy, it will be all right. That price sounds good, but not crazy good.

.....Bring a memory card and do a series of test images............

Bringing a laptop can aid in this, as well as verify the shutter count.

Thank you tirediron and sparky!!