Need help choosing camera

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by circa808, Sep 25, 2009.

1. circa808

circa808 TPF Noob!

So I am new to the slr scene and am coming from a point and shoot camera. I have had various experience working with slr cameras through my school, and I feel that the step up to slr is worth it. I have been doing research and what not and what I found was the canon xsi to be a good entry level camera for a good price ($630 on newegg). Now my parents are supportive of my interests (since I am paying for most of it using graduation money, birthday, and work money) and offered I should get a really good camera that'll last a while. So I looked around and saw the canon t1i which came out recently and read great reviews about it. I unfortunately stayed away from Nikon as they don't have a good 600-800 price range in cameras (couldn't really find deals of D60, D90 bit too much). Now i was wondering which one i should get for a long term investment for someone who was really going to get intophotography. If i do get the canon xsi there is the option to get the telephoto lens (50-250 mm, or open to options) while I would stick to the 18-55 mm for the canon t1i till I get more money. Please any input would be much appreciated.
    edit:actually the nikon D90 is still something i am contemplating, just need to know if it would be worth it for me

2. PhotoXopher

PhotoXopher TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The new Nikon D3000 or D5000 are in your range, just so you have a little more to choose from. If you want Canon, cool... just wanted to throw that out there.

3. bigtwinky

bigtwinky No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    If you are serious about sticking with photography for a while, make a better investment up front in the lenses that in the body, as these will last you much longer than a camera body.

4. circa808

circa808 TPF Noob!