Need help connecting Rebel XT to computer

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by omeletteman, Mar 23, 2006.

  1. omeletteman

    omeletteman TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    15
    K so I've been using a friends card reader to take the images off my rebel, but he went away on vacation for a few day and took back the card reader, and now when I just attach my camera straight to the computer it won't read the card. I can see the folders, but they have no names and they are blank (but they aren't really empty, the card is full).When I open any programs that should recognize a camera (Canon Photo Proffesional, Capture One, Zoombrowser) none of them are able to recognize there is a camera plugged in. I re-downloaded the drivers off the internet and it still doesn work.

    So, to my question (if all that wasnt confusing enough...); does anyone have any ideas for how to get the camera to connect? I don't have the actual CD's that should come with the camera (since I bought it off a friend). I really need to figure it out, cause I am gonna be going to another event in a few days that I was gonna take photos at and the card is COMPLETELY full.

    Thanks a lot guys! Sorry for writing so much...
     
  2. kelox

    kelox TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Coming to you live from Planet MAXXUM, home of the
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Ok, first-Windows or Mac?
    Second, try pulling the card out then putting it back in.
    Third try a new battery in the camera.
     
  3. magicmonkey

    magicmonkey TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Try reinstalling an updated version of the drivers...
     
  4. ChopstickHero

    ChopstickHero TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Redlands, CA
    i agree, if the software is already there, then try updating the drivers. you can download them from the Canon website.
     
  5. darich

    darich TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Near Lanark, Scotland
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    If you're changing/updating the drivers then read the instructions carefully for connecting the camera to the PC.

    Connecting the camera to PC before installing the drivers or installing drivers then connecting can be the difference between it working and not seeing the device at all. And if you get it wrong you'll have to completely remove the software/drivers and start again.

    At least that's exactly what's happened to me in the past. Happened with a printer too if i remember correctly.
     
  6. omeletteman

    omeletteman TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks for your help guys, I went back to the Canon website and read through every last nitty gritty detail I could find, and I think I know the problem...

    I dont have a program called EOS Utility. I can download it off the website, but it needs another program called EOS Viewer Utility to work. I can find that through a search on google, but it needs a program called File Viewer Utility in order to work... and that program seems to only exist for mac... why must they make this so complicated?
     
  7. Jimee

    Jimee TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Columbus
    If you can try another computer/USB port, do that. Also if you just have an SD Card reader (if that's what the mem is) try that.
     
  8. magicmonkey

    magicmonkey TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Omeletteman, I have the drivers here, downloaded recently, if you PM me your email address I'll send them on to you. You don'tactually need all the other software though, you can just use windows on it's own.
     
  9. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,818
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Ya, just get a card reader for $20.
     
  10. Mr_Jones

    Mr_Jones TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    Your camera won't show up in windows unless you connect it via the Firewire port. What you need for this is a Firewire 4 pin to 6 pin cable. You can't use the USB mini port on the camera.
     
  11. omeletteman

    omeletteman TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks guys for the replies. Magicmonkey, I'm just waitin on your email, thanks a lot, ill let you know if it works.
    Big Mike, I ordered a card reader, 1gb card and 50mm 1.8 lens off adorama last night, I'm just impatient :)

    Mr.Jones, your saying the usb can't work? why would it be on the camera then?
     
  12. Mr_Jones

    Mr_Jones TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    The USB is for PictBridge. I have Capture One on my computer and it won't recognize my Rebel XT, 5D, or Mark II N unless it's plugged in via the firewire port. In fact, the computer won't acknowledge the camera's existence until you have it plugged in via FireWire.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
canon rebel xt pc connection
,

canon rebel xt wont connect computer

,
canon rebel xti usb wont connect
,

canon rebel xti won't connect to computer

,
computer won't recognize canon rebel
,
computer wont recognize canon 5d
,
how to connect canon rebel xti to computer
,
how to connect canon xti to computer
,
rebel xt pc connection
,
thecanonxtieosrebel400dvidodontworkwhy.