Need help finding a camera

Squeeky

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I want to get a dslr but am not sure on which one, theres so many out there & I have little knowledge of what's important in a camera. I did narrow it down a little I think. I'm on a limited budget (asuming I get the nerve to buy it) and figured 1k isn't bad of a price for a dslr. For the lens I want a zoom thats like 50mm-300mm & the resolution about 8.

Two cameras I have found that sound good are the Olympus EVOLT E-510 & the canon 40d. The canon sounds better to me but also cost more. I'm not sure if it'd be worth the exspence if the evolt is just as good

I'm still not sure of what I'd take photos of but I'm thinking macro & landscapes for the most part. I don't really stick with one type, but take photos of what catches my interest at the time. I'd love one that can last a long time, so that I don't end up getting better then the camera & end up needing a new one quick. I'm not really sure what I need in a camera, not even the exstreme basics like you'd need no matter what you shoot.
Thanks for all the help to those have answered & to anyone who might help me now.

Last edited:
Image Stabilization, Aperture-priority mode and/or shutterspeed-priority mode, Defineable white balance reference, no digital zoom, tele zoom 20x, 3-7 pictures per second, ios speed 6400, Face recognition, Live view display screen, Hot shoe, Red-eye reduction, tiff and/or raw format, Proprietary batterie, water and shock proof (mostly shock), and dust reduction.

Lets make it general with all of these.

Image Stabilization: Most have this from the lens. Canon is IS, Nikon VR. Not sure about the others
Aperture/Shutter Priority: All DSLR's will have this (that I'm aware of(
White Balance: Most have this. Auto, Incandescent, etc and Preset