Need help finding the perfect camera!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by MrOh, Jul 17, 2008.

1. MrOh

MrOh TPF Noob!

Hi all! I'm a college freshman with a limited budget and I was wondering if you guys could help me find the perfect camera!

The money issue rules out all DSLR's. :-( Although I know I could probably dig around and find a moderately priced one, I'd rather not. :meh:

I just have a few things I really need.

1.) "Ultrazoom" camera. i.e.: greater than 10x optical zoom
    2.) The ability to shoot in RAW format.

That's it! There are some things I'd like to also have... but I wouldn't mind terribly if the camera lacked it... Things like it running off of AA batteries, optical viewfinder, image stabilization...

I was looking at the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ18... but I've heard not so great things about it's picture quality. If I can't find a good alternative, then I'll buy it.

Thank you all so much!

If this is the wrong place for this thread... SORRY! Please direct me to the right place. :)

Thanks!

2. tirediron

tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Your requirement for high-power zoom and RAW capture rules out all but a very few high-end P&S, which aren't much different in price from entry-level DSLRs. Since money is a concern, how about looking around at your local camera stores for a used Nikon 10 series (40, 40x, 50, etc) or a Canon Rebel. I'm seeing lots of them in my area hitting the used market for prices comparable to a good P&S.

3. MrOh

MrOh TPF Noob!

well the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ18 has both 18x zoom and can shoot in RAW... And I can get it for around $300... Not exactly chump change but I'd be delighted to find a used DSLR at that price.

4. Dao

Dao No longer a newbie, moving up!

5. skoka

skoka TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit