Need help in making decision.

Karikalan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hai everyone, Actually I am not an expert in the field of photography. I own a Canon AV1 and bought it about 6 months back. and learnt with a field photography book. I already feel I am good at taking good photos in normal condition.
My Canon Av1 (in great working condition) is not a completely manual one. So I couldnt override shutter speed. And I feel that I am ready to go for next level (or to handle a completely manual camera ). And my problem is here. Recently I saw a good Canon A1 for sale (90€) (less than the price I paid for canon AV1(125€) :( ).
So I am in a unresolvable dilemma, :confused: wheather I should buy it or not. and Since I travel a lot and not in my native country I dont want to add up luggage to me.
And my friends suggest to save the money for a better DSLR.
Since you guys are expert over these cameras, may be you can guide me better.
Do you think, buying Canon A1 would make huge difference. Difference, I mean in the sense of my photographic skills or better photos. Or should I directly go for a DSLR which I have decided to buy in 5 months anycase.

I was in the same situation as you many years ago (back in about 1980 if I remember correctly!).

I had the AV-1 and like you I learnt a lot from it. It is a good little camera, but compared to the A-1 it's a 'toy'! - When the A-1 came out it was a very sophisticated camera, with led viewfinder display and more modes and options that you could ever need.

I went out and got a new one, and in all honesty it was worth every penny - My photography improved, mainly because I had more control of exposure, and I took some of my best shots on it.