Need help pickin my first DSLR

Machupicchu

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I need help choosing my first real digital camera. Im currently a graphic design student and am interested in getting into photography as the two go semi hand in hand. I am in an introductory film class only because its a pre-req for digital;). Anyway i have yet to buy my camera and need help choosing the right one. Iv narrowed it down to either a Canon 50D or Nikon D90.

Alot of people say these two arent meant to compete but they both have evenly priced package deals on ebay. I want to start to get into macro and nature type photography so im looking for beautiful COLOR, and if there is really a difference, a camera better suited for MACRO.

I understand that the quality of the photo depends vastly on the photographer, however maybe one of these cameras has a more sophisticated RGB sensor or better lenses for macro.

Im completely new to this so all input helps. Iv been unable to decide on these two cameras for a week and its driving me crazy.:confused: Iv heard mixed opinions on both, i just need to be persuaded one way or another.

I plan on going down to best buy soon to play with both. uggg....... im tired of comparing, hahah.

Any input helps. Thanx

Better suited for macro? Clearly the answer there is Nikon, simply because Nikon has many,many more models of used macro lenses dating back to the 1960's, some of which are still superb performers, bellows, the 5T and 6T close-up filters,
inexpensive lens reversing rings, and most importantly, Nikon has ALL the accessories needed for even very sophisticated macro setups where you can take a simple,affordable lens like a used 200mm f/4 Ai for $79 and buy a $10 reversing ring,and mount a used 24mm on the front in reverse,and have an ultra-macro lens capable of shooting roughly 4.5x life-size, for under $250.