need help picking out a camera

ktbo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey all, i know i'm a newbie here, so some general information on me. I am a 22 yr old college student and have taken a couple of photography courses back in high school with SLR camera.

I've come to the conclution that I would like to invest in a good digital camera. The one I have is at least 5 years old and is a whopping 2 megapixels.
wink.gif
I would like to spend around 300 dollars (however the cheaper the better as long as it will work for me)

So . . . . any recomendations? I am a huge fan of the traditional SLR cameras and would like a camera that would allow me to manipulate the controls a bit (fuzzing of backgrounds, playing with the light meter ect) however if it doesn't have those options, i would like one that works well in low light environments as well as normal outdoor settings.

I would also like to have a decent optical zoom for getting pics of animals a distance away and such. Alhtough i would like one eventually that could use my slr camera lenses, i don't have the money for this at the moment.

To be even more picky, im not a huge fan of the kodak systems (thats the type i have right now, they are almost too user friendly for me) and i would like to be able to use the sony memory sticks (my dad and other relatives already use sony memory sticks so i could borrow their sticks when needed).

any ideas?

kt

Welcome to the forum.

It really sounds like what you want, is best accomplished by a digital SLR...everything but the price. Especially as you are experienced with an SLR camera.

There are plenty of digital point & shoot cameras that have the 4 basic modes. Auto, manual, aperture priority and shutter priority. You can check the specs at www.dpreview.com
As you have found, some cameras are just too user friendly and don't have these modes.