Need help, taking trip to Alaska

IDLaxStar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I will be going on a cruise to Alaska in June. I will be doing many excursions that will take me to some remote places such as in forests and even on top of a glacier. I want to take some awesome photos when I'm there. I am very new to photography and was wondering if anyone could give me advice on techniques or anything for nature shots and what not. Also any tips on shotting wild life such as birds or bears. My parents already have gone on a cruise to Alaska and said they saw a lot of bald eagles which i think would be amazing to get a picture of. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance. I have an Olympus E-410 DSLR and a 70-300 mm lens too.

Last edited:
That's one cruise I would like to go on. I heard it's very scenic. For a beginner into Photography, just set your camera on "P" mode and shoot. If you need flash, turn on your flash and shoot. You never did mention what type of camera you have, so I am suggesting it's a DSLR. Have fun!

All I have to say I'm mad crazy jealous I've wanted to go to Alaska for like 3 years now.

Yes correct. It is a Olympus E-410. I have a 70-300 mm lens too.

Okay, I just googled your camera and it's a DSLR (Digital Single Lens Reflex) and it has a maximum resolution of 3648 x 2736 which is roughly a 10 Mega Pixel camera. For scenic shots, I suggest you shoot at your highest resolution, unless you want to go lower. Do you know how to use your camera?

Yeah. At least somewhat. I'm pretty new but I roughly understand shutter speed and aperature and iso setting. Not a whole ton but enough I guess. I'm not totally new haha.

Just take a few memory cards and shoot, shoot, shoot.
How you shoot depends on how comfortable you are with your camera and what it is you are shooting.