Need Help using MANUAL FOCUS

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Cool G5, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. Cool G5

    Cool G5 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I have been enjoying photography & as expected I learnt MANUAL was the place where I could compose the shot the way I want it to. Though I have got a good grasp of MANUAL mode but still I allow camera to AUTO-FOCUS instead of using MANUAL FOCUS. The reason behind this is, I am still not apt at getting good focussed shots with MANUAL FOCUS. I only know when you need to shoot SKY or distant objects, one should set the MANUAL FOCUS to infinity. :( For other shots, I end up rotating the wheel on my camera till I see the edges to be clear of my subject. I am unable to get how to focus under MANUAL MODE. Please help me on how to set & use MANUAL FOCUS. I use Canon SX 100 IS which is a P&S Camera..
     
  2. gsgary

    gsgary Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    16,062
    Likes Received:
    2,813
    Location:
    Chesterfield UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm not sure that camera will manual focus
     
  3. Annamas

    Annamas TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    On a point and shoot you don't get the option to manual focus. With a SLR camera and a zoom lense you can adjust the focal length of the lense. Between infite and the minimum focal distance (my 70-200m is about 1.2m, while my stock lense is around 0.26m).

    Point shoot is all auto-focus.

    I might be wrong, correct me if I am, but I think this about right.
     
  4. c.cloudwalker

    c.cloudwalker TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,394
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    An American in Europe
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I've tried to manually focus my DSLR by looking just at the LCD screen and I find it almost impossible. And that's inside...

    From the reviews I'm reading about your camera, it seems like the LCD is not very high resolution and I would think that is the problem.

    Now, I wear glasses and that may be part of my problem except I don't seem to have a problem when focusing through the view finder.

    I have a feeling that with your camera, you may be better off not using the manual focusing.
     
  5. boogschd

    boogschd TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ph
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    canon powershot g10 has a manual focus option...

    though i never got around to work it properly .. lol

    (tis owned by a friend of mine)
     
  6. Cool G5

    Cool G5 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    It does has MANUAL FOCUS guys. :(
     
  7. gsgary

    gsgary Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    16,062
    Likes Received:
    2,813
    Location:
    Chesterfield UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Not sure what camera you have but on Canon you can half press the shutter button and you will get confirmation when it is in focus
     

Share This Page