Need help with camera decision

pinkstonm

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a novice photographer but would like to start taking digital pictures.

My son plays college lacrosse and I wanted to start taking some nice action shots of him playing. I have been to all the stores and was actually looking the the following cameras:
Canon PowerShot S5 IS
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ18
Sony DSC-H9

I like the Panasonic because of it 18x zoom but am looking for some help from the pros. Help me decide on one of these or let me know if there is something I should be looking at instead. I would like to stay in the price range of these cameras.
Thanks

Welcome to the forum.

First off, shooting sports is one of the most demanding things to ask of your camera. You need fast shutter speeds to freeze the fast moving action and to get the fast shutter speeds, it helps to have a large maximum aperture. You also need a long focal length because you have to be off of the field.

I'm not sure about the lenses that are built into the camera that you mention...but I'd guess that their maximum aperture (especially at the long end of the zoom) isn't very big. Also, you will usually find that the greater the zoom range, the lower the image quality.

Do they play their Lacrosse games in the daylight or under the lights in the evening? This makes a big difference because those lights don't really give you all that much light and getting fast shutter speeds is very hard.

There is something you can do, to get faster shutter speeds...and that is to turn up the ISO setting. However, the higher you go, the more noise you will get. That is part of those cameras you listed...they are not great at high ISO settings....mostly because they have rather small image sensors.

Another thing that should be considered is the shutter lag...how fast does the camera snap the photo after you press the button. I've found most 'digi-cams' to be painfully slow but the newer ones are better.