need help with course work

Status
Not open for further replies.

bug72

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm taking an online course and looking for some help with the questions at the end of a unit. I'll probably be posting them all as I'm new to photography and most of this is over my head. I read all the material and did research and I'm such a newbie that I'm still not getting it. Just to make it clear I don't want someone to say ok here is the answer, I really do what to know why.

So here is the question: An advertising agency has hired you to photograph individual “pack shots” of a range of packet soups. The soups come in small rectangular boxes, which have a glossy finish. They want the pack to look heroic and important.

And this is the equipment we can use:
␣Two small format DSLR cameras with full sized 35mm sensors
␣20mm lens
␣24mm tilt-shift lens
␣35mm lens
␣50mm lens
␣90mm tilt-shift lens
␣100mm macro lens
␣135mm lens
␣300mm lens
␣Neutral Density Filter
␣Polarizing Filter
␣Two quick cycle portable flash units made specifically for your cameras ␣Transportable studio flash gear
␣Tripod
␣Monopod

This is the best I can do: I'm pretty sure I will need a tripod to get really clear in focus shots. I'm also sure I will need a polarizing filter to reduce the glare off the packaging. I'm not even sure what they mean by "pack shots". Sigh. A wide angle lens would make the soup packet look bigger so would that make it look "heroic"? I don't really understand what a tilt shift lens does. Ugh I'm so out of my depth!

Thanks for any ideas, I really want to understand the why of this.