Need Help With Lens For Real Estate

PhotoJeff

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to the photography world and am finding that I rather enjoy it. I work in real estate and have a Canon EOS Rebel T3 with a 18-55 mm factory lens. I come across several instances where I need to take pictures of smaller rooms and this lens just isn't cutting it. I need a wide angle lens with auto focus feature that lets me take clear pictures of smaller rooms.

I've looked into this a little and one place I came across mentioned the Sigma 10-22mm wide angle lens is preferred with real estate photographers. Does anybody have any thoughts they can pass my way either regarding the Sigma lens or a different lens that's easy on the budget but will work with my camera and do what I need it to do? Any help with where I can purchase from would be great as well. Thanks.

Jefferson

Hello, I'm new to the photography world and am finding that I rather enjoy it. I work in real estate and have a Canon EOS Rebel T3 with a 18-55 mm factory lens. I come across several instances where I need to take pictures of smaller rooms and this lens just isn't cutting it. I need a wide angle lens with auto focus feature that lets me take clear pictures of smaller rooms.

I've looked into this a little and one place I came across mentioned the Sigma 10-22mm wide angle lens is preferred with real estate photographers. Does anybody have any thoughts they can pass my way either regarding the Sigma lens or a different lens that's easy on the budget but will work with my camera and do what I need it to do? Any help with where I can purchase from would be great as well. Thanks.

Jefferson

instead of the Sigma look at the Canon 10-18
sharper, cheaper, ($199 refurbished)

and don't forget lighting (flash w/remote trigger) and a tripod are important for rooms

And software that can correct for lens distortion.

We just put a house up on the market and my real estate agent uses an acomplished real estate photographer.