Need help with Nikon D200 in Studio

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by kbtarl, Nov 17, 2006.

  1. kbtarl

    kbtarl TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My wife just bought a Nikon D200 to break into the digital age. She is a professional photographer using primarily a Mamiya 645 AFD with a SunPak MS-4000 Pro System (2lights). She uses a Wein Pro Sync LX to trigger the flashes with the Mamiya but we can not get it to work right with the D200. It only gives us a picture across a small strip at the bottom. She has been using the built in Flash to trigger her strobes but she gets a shadow cast on the right hand side every time. I am sure you can sympathize with the post procession to remove shadows. She doesn't get this with the Mamiya so she thinks it must be from the pop up flash. What is causing the Pro Sync to produce only the small strip across the bottom and total black above? Is it the pop up flash on the D200 causing the shadow? Where can we learn more about getting good in studio flash pictures with the D200?

    Thanks in advance for any comments, tips, tricks, references.

    Bruce
     
  2. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    What shutter speed is she using?

    Usually, when there is a strip at the side/bottom that is not illuminated...it is because the shutter speed was faster than the camera's max sync speed.

    A quick search tells me that the D200's max sync speed it 1/250...so don't use a speed any faster than that.

    Another possible problem may be that she is using the built-in flash to trigger the strobes. I know that Canon's E-TTL flash metering will cause the camera to fire a pre-flash right before exposure, to determine the proper flash output. If used with optical slaves...the pre-flash will trigger them...not allowing them time to recharge for the actual exposure. I don't know how Nikon does it...but this may be your problem.
     
  3. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Sounds to me like the shutter is faster than the x-sync speed.
     
  4. indigenous

    indigenous TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd bet money on it.
     
  5. fmw

    fmw No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    137
    Yes, most likely you are trying to shoot with too fast a shutter speed.

    I would suggest you turn off the built in flash and never turn it on again. The answer is to get an AS-15 which is a shoe mount accessory with a PC socket. You can then put a PC cord between it and one of the strobes. Any other strobes can be slave triggered. The AS15 is cheap. I have a brand new spare one if you like. PC cords are also cheap but I'll bet your wife has that already. If not get a nice, long coiled one so it won't get your way as you move around the set.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
d200 settings for strobe
,
d200 settings for studio
,
how is d200 for a studio?
,
how to set up nikon d 200 for studio flash
,
nikkon d200 in studio
,

nikon d200 flash shadow

,

nikon d200 studio

,

nikon d200 studio flash sync

,

nikon d200 studio shots

,

sync nikon d200 to studio flash