canonjoshphotos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a concert photographer from NYC and I'm slowly transitioning into video making, Ive been making it work with what I have but now I got some money saved up and I wanna buy a new lens/body.

Im torn between getting a sigma 24-70 f/2.8 or a sigma 18-35 f/1.8, I normally get a photo pass so I'm always near the stage. I'm also open to any other suggestions !

as for the camera body I've been looking into a 70D or t6s, my overall budget right now is about $1600

hopefully someone can help !

Hi and welcome to the forum.
What is the equipment you currently work with? I assume you use Canon? Which lenses do you have?
For me video is more about movement than lenses and cameras. Sliders, gimbals, Steadicam, jibs and the like - if you have the permit to use these on stage. Maybe you can use the camera you have and get something to bring some action to your videos.

I rented that Sigma 18-35 just to check it for a future project. Amazing sharpness, even wide open at the 18mm mark. I was really impressed with this glass. I decided to just use my Sigma 17-50 as I can't justify the purchase but it (18-35) has better sharpness and clarity. Amazing piece of glass for the money.

What gear do you use now?