Need help with strobes.

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by trades2cash, Oct 28, 2009.

1. trades2cash

trades2cash TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Here is the deal. I have a nikon d90 that i have become very comfortable shooting in manual mode so I am not an entire newbie. I got a pretty good grasp on exposure and iso an etc. Now the thing is that i never use the flash. I recently got 2 square perfect strobes and light boxes for some indoor shooting. I have a wireless transmitter and the strobes trigger just fine. What i am having trouble understanding is why i am limited to certain shutter speeds. If i try to shot faster than 1/200 the lower part of the photo is black. Now I Know my way around my menu and manual for the camera, but the ttl mode and commander mode is really losing me. So how would you shot someone who is jumping in the air and you cant shot 1/500 or faster? Thanks for any input.

2. CSR Studio

CSR Studio TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    The flash sync for the D90 is 1/200. Therefore to sync your shutter with the flash you must be at 1/200 or below. That is why when you go higher the lower part of the image is black. The black part is your shutter.

3. Phranquey

Phranquey TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    This happens because under 1/200th your sensor is fully exposed and can catch the entire scene with a flash...anything over 1/200th, the rear curtain is starting to close before the front curtain has reach the end of it's travel, so the entire sensor isn't open during the flash. The faster the shutter speed, the sooner the rear curtain follows, thus the narrower the slit that is moving across the sensor (or film).

4. CSR Studio

CSR Studio TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit