TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm still a beginner & I would truly appreciate feedback in
editing & in using my camera [Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi]

IMG_6027.jpg

I asked my friend to model for me and it got late so there wasn't much
light anymore. it turned out so blurry. does anyone have any advice on how I can take better pictures when there is little daylight?

IMG_8336.jpg

In this picture could I have set my aperture or exposure time differently
to make it look better?

IMG_8623.jpg

I want to learn how to edit my pictures to where
it looks natural like the way my friend can.
Here is a link to her pictures:
Catie - a set on Flickr

#1 looks a bit underexposed. Use a larger aperture, longer shutter speed or increase your ISO.

#2 is out of focus because your camera naturally wants to let the proper amount of light in by extending the shutter speed. You'll need a tripod to get low light shots properly exposed and in focus, but in some cases where the light isn't too low, you can just bump the ISO setting to 800-1600 and do your best to hold still (not always gonna work well). You can also just set the camera on something too and it's helpful to use the timer so the push of the shutter button doesn't shade the camera.

#3 looks pretty good and is your best shot. You may want to consider cropping out things in the photo that distract the viewers eye, like the car headlight. If it doesn't add strength to the photo, leave it out.

Hope this helps, and welcome to the forum.

Thank you for your tips & advice. I will utilize them in my next shoot.

In the second photo I cranked up my ISO, but the camera shake was
still there. I even tried using my tripod, but it is not a very good one.
Every time I tried to take a picture, when I pressed the shutter the
picture still came out blurry. However, your advice about setting it on
something and using self timer is a very good idea.