Need info from wedding photographers

hijinks7

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm sorry if this is in the wrong place, if it is please move it.

I am a software developer and my wife is looking to become a wedding photographer and while looking for an online proofing option for her I think I've stumbled onto a business model to allow me to charge hardly any money to host full resolution proofs for people to proof and purchase.

I just need to know how many pictures from a proof set on average are purchased by the couple, friends and family. The key to my business is hoping that enough are bought to fund this business and keep it above water. I've run a bunch of numbers over the last week but I need some input from the community.

Thanks for the help!

I have done weddings but couldn't call myself a 'wedding photographer'. But, I have known many in the business. A commonality that exists is that people (customers) seem to not want to pay the photog. I'm not sure why, it might have to do with them getting pictures taken by friends. Most I have known have a collection of albums that were never paid for. Get money up front, enough, at least, to not make the day and time a bust.
You didn't ask, but the other admonition is to check equipment beforehand, then double check it. Screwing up an assignment is always bad but weddings have more emotion involved than most. And, they have lots of folks who can badmouth you. That can put one out of business. Quick.

Thanks for the feedback. My assumption was that most people aren't paying the photographer for the images.. I'm guilty of that also.. we bought the full res proofs and just gave them to everyone that would probably buy from the photographer

I would guess that for an average wedding... depending on the photographer you're looking at an average of 500-1000 images. Some do more and some do less, but that would be my rough guess.