need legal help...

BUDSKi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
so here is the situation...

I've been shooting for a motorsports for about 3 years now and I've hit my first wall. This season I decided to go through the organization to get a media pass which turned out to be a mistake. Long story short we didnt see eye to eye on their aggresive tactics, not paying their photographers, owning all rights to the images (big mistake), and down right treating their photographers like ****. only perk being that they allowed us to sell photos.

SO... now I'm trying to find away to keep on shooting these events without them owning any rights. I plan on sending my own contract to them but considering how stubborn they are I doubt they will sign it. So here are my questions....

- how spectators get away with showing and at time selling images?

- can you be a team photographer and just have that team own the rights? for example being a photographer for the cowboys VS the NFL.

also could you get permission from the event location (track) to shoot photos?

this is a whole new world for me and any input would be great. Thanks!

Sounds like you've got some serious legal questions, and you've got a signed contract you want to find loopholes in. Time to call a lawyer and get solid advice.

You've been "shooting for a motorsports" ...what? "for about 3 years now."

Are you talking about the track owners or the sanctioning body when you say "organization".

Online is a poor place to seek legal help, and musicaleCA's advice to seek an attorney for assistance is certainly sound.

hahaha, from your description it sounds like DMG :) pricks they are!

Sounds like you've got some serious legal questions, and you've got a signed contract you want to find loopholes in. Time to call a lawyer and get solid advice.

Well, yes, but you need to do some research to be able to recognize whether you are talking to a good, knowledgeable lawyer or not.