Need some advice Nikon d750, d800,d810

Rbat5875

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all

I am a Very Keen wildlife photographer and have been using a Nikon D3100 for the past 2 years and I'm interested in buying a new camera body. The Nikon D 750 and Nikon D810 are both in my budget. My question is do I go for the D800 or the D750 and be able to put some extra money away for a new lens. I know that both cameras have good reviews but do I go with more pixels or faster frame rate please help. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ryan

Hi all

I am a Very Keen wildlife photographer and have been using a Nikon D3100 for the past 2 years and I'm interested in buying a new camera body. The Nikon D 750 and Nikon D810 are both in my budget. My question is do I go for the D800 or the D750 and be able to put some extra money away for a new lens. I know that both cameras have good reviews but do I go with more pixels or faster frame rate please help. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ryan
Are you sure you want to go full frame? I'd go with D750 due to the 6.5fps but truth be told, even if I had all the money in the world, I'd get a DX body for wildlife stuff. You'll loose a lot of reach otherwise. I know many professionals use full frame for wildlife stuff, but I'd still suggest getting a crop body first.

My suggestion, get the D7100, which would be a significant upgrade from your D3100 in itself, and then invest in some real quality glass from the money that you've saved. Use it for at least an year and get used to it, I doubt you'll ever need more. But if in the future you are missing some features that only the full frame can provide, you'll have enough experience by then to make your own call. You can always sell it off, and buy whatever FF is there in the market.

Last edited:
+1 for the D7100. If FX was a must, then there would be little doubt I'd go for the D750 over the rest.