Need some help with remote flashes.

lowcel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First off, I am very new to photography (other than point and shoot) so I am pretty clueless about most things in this hobby. The main reason I purchased my new camera (Canon XS) was for aquarium photography. The best pictures I have seen use a flash on top of the aquarium and a flash on the camera.

My question is, what do I need to purchase to be able to use two flashes? The flash built on the camera would probably be fine for the on camera flash but I can buy another one if necessary. I also have a Canon 430EX II flash being delivered today. I would prefer to not spend any more money than necessary.

There are a few options to fire these wirelessly, but I'm sure youre only interested in the two cheaper options. There are Cactus triggers and there are cybersyncs. I personally use cybersyncs for their reliability and range, but in this case even the cactus triggers would work for you. They each have a transmitter that sits in the hot shoe of your flash and a receiver thats plugged into the flash. However, I dont believe canon flashes have a pc port so you would need to buy a hot shoe adapter with a pc port.

Would I still be able to use my on camera flash with those?

One other question. I was told by B&H that the best way to use an on camera flash and the 430EX II off camera would be to purchase a Canon 580EX II flash and it would control it. Is that true? It is more than I really want to spend but if it is my best / only option I may not have a choice.

Here is a link to it. Canon | 580EX II Flash | 1946B002 | B&H Photo Video

One other question. I was told by B&H that the best way to use an on camera flash and the 430EX II off camera would be to purchase a Canon 580EX II flash and it would control it. Is that true? It is more than I really want to spend but if it is my best / only option I may not have a choice.