need some suggestions on bad lighting situation..

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by 303villain, Jan 20, 2006.

1. 303villain

303villain TPF Noob!

So my paintball team is putting together a website to keep in contact with our sponsors, and attract prospective ones, and obviously they want action pictures. Well, the field we practice at is indoors, and the lighting isnt horrid, but not great. I want clearer pictures with better color and whatnot(basically, im not happy with the results ive got) and im looking for suggestions. this picture was taken at iso 1000, with the popup flash, and like 160th of a second shutter(going from memory here) at f5.6
    [​IMG]

what can i do to get better results? the lense i used is a 14-45 f3.5-5.6, ive tried using my vivitar flash, and the results i got were even worse! im very new to sports type photography(indoors at least) and any info would be great! thanks!

2. Rob

Rob TPF Noob!

Lower the ISO, go to the middle of your zoom range and put the camera on a tripod. Abandon the flash and get everyone to stand still in the best lit area.

Consider going outdoors for a couple of shots against the wall - it'll look like inside and you'll get better light.

Rob

3. 303villain

303villain TPF Noob!

unfortunately, they really only want pictures from games(which i suppose i could get them to pose for some, but others(i have probably 20 that i didnt post that are not exactly "poseable") are not going to be so easy. we have a practice coming up at another team's home field soon and its outdoors, so maybe ill just skip playing for part of that day and take tons of pictures

4. MyCameraEye

MyCameraEye TPF Noob!