Need to buy cheap DSLR

jsisidore

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello. First of all I have no idea what DSLR cameras are other than they are generally better than point and shoot cameras. I consider myself an amateur photographer but I have an eye for detail. My first camera Sony DSC-WX350 couldn't satisfy my needs, although I was more than pleased with the general quality of the photos, the full zoom quality was just too grainy, the photos looked like an up-close shot from a low pixel phone camera.

So I need a camera that would make at least better photos on full zoom, and it has to be cheap too, I'm thinking of buying a used DSLR because they are considered to be better than point and shoot cameras but like I said I have no idea which one to choose, I'm a layman in the field and can only think in pixels and "X"s, milometers tell me nothing.

I found a really cheap and used DSLR camera Fujifilm Finepix S4400, it has less pixels but maybe the full zoom will be at least better, less grainy?

Thanks.

Congrats!

I'd go with a Nikon (D5500 if new) or Canon (Rebel T6 if new or slightly older if preowned)- check out your local craigslist for some pricing on pre-owned - sometimes you can get a bundle of stuff for a good deal.

The addiction begins :)

Cheap good DSLR
Recommend Nikon D3300.
This camera has very impressive low light performance, good dynamic range and good auto focus for its price.
I have this camera and use it regularly in events and weddings, I even use it for some of my portrait photography.
The main secret of this camera is its very powerful modern 24 mega pixel sensor.
I think its class leading in its price range.

Thanks for your reply, the camera you have suggested has very good reviews but still too expensive. I need cheaper as I'm not an avid photographer. I just need something that would keep quality on full zoom unlike point and shoot cameras. What can you tell me on the model I've mentioned in my op?