Need to Make N90 work for Movies & TV

Discussion in 'Photo Assignments & Technical Challenges' started by movieguns, Jun 13, 2008.

  1. movieguns

    movieguns TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I am a movie prop master and I need to make a Nikon N90s and an N70 work without film in them. They need to flash/fire on camera as if someone were actually shooting pictures with them. Does anyone have any ideas on how to bypass the film system in order to make them work? Thanks.

    www.propguys.com
     
  2. GermanyBert

    GermanyBert TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    XLF Intergalatic Headquarters
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Why not just put a 99 cent roll of film in the camera?
     
  3. Mike_E

    Mike_E No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,327
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    The Upper West Side of Mississippi (you have no i
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You can also buy an inexpensive tool to pull the leader of the film from the canister and reuse the film over and over if you don't care about developing anything. No point in ruining a perfectly good Nikon.

    Welcome to the forum by the way. :)
     
  4. Helen B

    Helen B TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    Hell's Kitchen, New York
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It's not really the expense of the film, it's the convenience of having a camera that works without interruption or having to keep track of the number of exposures.

    I've never worked on set with a prop film camera that needs film in it to operate. What is it about the N90s and N70 that prevents them from working without film?

    Best,
    Helen
     
  5. JIP

    JIP No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    I don't know, mabye I will have to check my N70 but as far as I know all you have to do is set everything on Manual and it should shoot just fine. I could se it happening with the N70 because it was a sort of complicated camera for the time but I imagine the N90 will shoot this way the only thing that will be different is there will be (obviously) no film counter. Other than that though the camera and flash should work just fine and if you also use manual focus there will be no delay for focusing.
     
  6. GermanyBert

    GermanyBert TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    XLF Intergalatic Headquarters
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Do you have to use a Nikon N90?

    Why not use some other camera and flash? Plenty of older cameras and flashes on eBay which can be had for next to nothing.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

n90 camera reuse