Need your help ASAP - much appreciated!

vik611

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello All,

I'm currently torn between two cameras and will be travelling to Spain in two days.

Some background information:

• I'm a beginner with respect to photography (i.e. only have previous experience with P&S cameras on auto). That being said, I'm willing to learn in the long run and want to take beautiful photos
  • I will be travelling a lot in the coming month/years
  • Specifically in Spain, I foresee that I will be taking mostly architecture (indoor/outdoor) and landscape photos
The two cameras I'm looking at are the Sony A6000 and Sony A7 (I know this comparison has been beaten to death) however, I can get the following combinations for more-or-less the same price (which leads to my dilemma):

1. Sony A6000 + 16-50mm (Kit Lens) + 10-18mm (SEL1018)
  2. Sony A6000 + 16-70mm (SEL1670Z - Vario Tessar Zeiss)
  3. Sony A7 + 28-70mm (Kit Lens)
Referring to Option 1, I included the 10-18mm wide angle since I'll be taking mostly architecture and landscape shots.

I would like to make a long-term decision and choose a camera I can grow and take beautiful photos with.

Sincerely appreciate your feedback! All suggestion are welcome, including inclusion of different lenses I may have overlooked.

Thanks

Hasty decisions.....tsk...tsk.

Perhaps you could put off the trip to Spain and look at all the various models you are interested in and make a proper decision.

I would pick option #1, the A6000, the 10-18mm zoom, and the 16-50mm zoom. Get two extra batteries for it. Enjoy Spain!

As I've told people numerous times, learning new gear on a critical shoot is usually a major mistake. The buttons and menus don't come 'automatically' the first 30-40 hours of shooting with a new camera. As a result, there's far more frustration with the new gear than need be.