New, and I have a simple question.

JenKate22

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, brand new here! My name is Jenna and I'm just learning my new camera, Canon Digital Rebel XTI.

I'm also learning how to shoot in manual mode. So here's my question...

If it doesn't sound too stupid, could someone tell me what settings in manual mode would I set my camera to, to shoot indoors w/o a flash with basic lighting, (lamps and such) or general settings I could play around with?

I know its a dumb question, but I really have no clue! Thanks in Advance
Jenna

Welocme Jenna...first off, NO question is stupid!
Shooting in full manual mode indoors, your going to have to use your camera in auto mode to get an idea of exposure settings...take several reading around the shooting areas. Once you have that, PLAY! Its likely your going to need a tripod handy unless you have a whole lot of light comming through the windows. There is no specific settings but you can count on long exposure times due to any lack of light. Anyway, you will need to get an idea from your camera meter regarding your settings. Hope this helps and have fun!

Welcome to the forum.

Congrats on your new camera...it's a good one.

There is no way that we could tell you the settings to use...that depends on the light you have...and that's why camera's have light meters built in. If you are using manual mode...then you should adjust the aperture/shutter speed (and maybe the ISO) until the 'needle' is in the middle of the scale that you see in the viewfinder (or on the back). The meter is activated when you half-press the shutter release button.

Since you are new to your camera...why are you shooting in manual? It can be a great way to learn...that's true. But you kind of have to know how to use the meter and what the different settings will do.