New and ready to learn.

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by AlohaBethie, Oct 13, 2008.

1. AlohaBethie

AlohaBethie TPF Noob!

Hi - I found this site through my brother Todd - who is a member. I am new to photography - I purchased a Nikon D60 and have been experementing with it. I want to learn more about the technical side of photography -- Right now I just like taking pictures of pretty things :) Truly, I am not afraid of criticism, I am new and learning and any advice is greatly appreciated.

Here are a few of the photos I have taken in the past couple months...

1.[​IMG]

2.[​IMG]

3.[​IMG]

4.[​IMG]

5.[​IMG]

2. AlohaBethie

AlohaBethie TPF Noob!

I truly would appreciate any comments and criticisms people have...

3. BTilson

BTilson TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am by no means an expert, but here's my crack at them:

1) I like this shot quite a bit. I think it would be compositionally stronger if the fence was going into the frame instead of out of it. Maybe if you could've pulled back a little and turned right just a tad? Colors look pretty good and the slight tilt to the image helps it quite a bit. I think it would've been significantly less interesting had it been straight up and down.

2) Seems nice and sharp with a nice vivid green, but I would've liked to see the entire leaf, and I find the shadow on the camera left side of the leaf kind of annoying and distracting.

3) Very nice, could've used a slightly bigger DOF (smaller aperture) to bring the underside of his chin into focus. Also I think it would like to see it somewhat brighter. The eyes are tack sharp which is critical when photographing anything with eyes. Also, if he had been looking into the frame instead of out, it would've helped.