New Body or New Lens

bebo03

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I currently have a Canon 20D, 28-70 2.8L, 50 1.8, 70-200 4L, and 35-105 USMII. I do weddings, gymnastics, and outdoors sports. I am thinking about getting the new 7D or some prime lens (85 1.8, 135 2.0L,) or the 70-200 2.8 IS. I have always heard invest in lens first then a camera body. I’m looking to spend around 3k to 3.3k. Any input would be great. Since I have never used a IS lens should I save the $$$ and get the 70-200 2.8 NON IS? Any input would be great. I’m just an amateur photographer of about 4 years.

Thanks!

Go for the 70-200 f2.8 IS since it is in your budge.
For the gymnastics and outdoor sports it will be a great tool. You will learn to use it's features.

is your 70-200 f4 non IS?

if it is, i would take the f4 IS version plus a new body :D maybe a 7D :D that is how i would do it if i had your gear and money. or maybe think about going full frame :D

I think you have a decent lens line up and your body is kind of dated. high iso of the 7D/5D would help you in your work.

The IS would help you a few stops without compromising the DOF when using a narrow one like 2.8.

Remember that IS counters handshake only - it has no effect what so ever on subject motion blur. Thus whilst IS can help you get a steady clear shot when using a slower shutter speed whilst handheld (and its fantastic for that aspect esp in teh longer glass) you are still going to need a faster shutter speed to keep motion blur eliminated.
For spots and similar subject when working indoors I would go for the f2.8 version for that extra stop of light - sure it makes depth of field much smaller, but get your shutter speed up.