New Camera Advice

scanneraddict21

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone. I am new to the thread and already had another question answered really quickly so I want to thank you all for the great welcome.

I have been into photography for over a year now shooting mainly landscapes, cityscapes, lakes, and ponds. I currently use a Canon Powershot S2 that has provided me with some great photographs that I am very proud of. With the S2 I have learned many of the manual settings and the different results they give. A really good learning camera.

So what am I getting at? I am looking into upgrading my equipment. I want to get an SLR camera that gives me even more manual settings, more options and more opportunities to expand my photography skills and knowledge. I have been looking at the Nikon line of SLR cameras basically from the D40 up to the D80. Out of the cameras given, I have mainly looked at the D80 as the next step.

I am basically looking for any advice and if this is a good way to go. I am also interested as to what kind of lenses I should consider with my current photography interests? I want to possibly get into flash photography and the different flashes available for the Nikon cameras. Any and all input is appreciated.

Thanks everyone.

It seems that you have been bitten by the DSLR bug...and after only three posts here :lol:

The Nikon DSLR cameras are great, as are the Canon cameras. Sony has a good one and Pentax has a few. The list goes on. Canon and Nikon are leaders in the market and probably have the best selection of lenses and accessories.

You can't really go wrong with the Nikon D50 or D80. The D40 has one major drawback that it isn't completely compatible with many of Nikon's lenses because it doesn't have an AF motor like the other cameras do. Similarly, you can't really go wrong with any of the Canon DSLR cameras. They are all very good photographic tools.