New camera, please help

magotka

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everybody.
I'm new here and I'm looking for some help and advice with buying my first camera. I'm a beginner if it comes to shutting pictures I have only shut on auto settings on Nikon d60 a long time ago. I would like something that will last a few years.
I was reading a lot recently and the more I read the more confused I am.

I was thinking about:
D3400
D5300
D7100

I would like to get two lenses.
I'm interested in:
Landscapes, portraits, indoor photos, city, children

I was thinking about:
Nikkor:
*35mm 1.8 prime
*18-140 f/3.5-5.6 VR DX

Would someone be able to help with a decision?
Maybe some literature or videos for dummies?

I would appreciate any help. Thank You.

I'm biased because I don't like the little D3000 series of cameras. Doesn't mean they're not good though. It's just me.
Personally I would go with the D7000 series for the AF motor, ability to include a battery grip, etc... Better built cameras.
And the AF motor opens the doors to less costly AF glass, when needed, if on a budget.

Look hard at the D7200. They're discounted now and will probably drop a bit more once the D7500 hits the stores. It's a hugely capable camera that's hard to beat for value. As mentioned above, it handles all Nikon's AF lenses, as well as many earlier manual focus lenses with metering. A near-perfect all-round DSLR and arguably one of Nikon's best for the $$$.

Thank You for your response. I appreciate it.
What about the lenses?
Any help?
I'm interested in around the house pictures, children, landscapes maybe portraits.

Was thinking about:
Nikkor 18-140 f/3.5-5.6 vr dx
35mm f/1.8 prime

Are these good choices for what I'm planning on using them for?

Also, along the lines of the D7000 series. Trust me, you'll love any of them! If you can't swing the D7200, then consider the D7100.