New camera shoots crooked photos

WideAperture

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I recently bought a Nikon D750. For some reason when I take a photo (mainly in landscape) the photos are crooked leaning to the side. I have to adjust them in post. I've been shooting for 8 years and I've NEVER had this issue. Is this something that can be corrected within the camera? Thanks!

Yes. Use the viewfinders' grid option.

If you think about it, the cameras sensor would have to be tilted inside the body. Or the body tilted to it's internal frame. Highly unlikely ???

use the grip option mentioned above to assist in making sure images are level.

My digital cameras have a built-in level which ensures my pictures are as straight as can be. Without using the built-in levels, all my pictures are as crooked as a nine bob note.

I recently bought a Nikon D750. For some reason when I take a photo (mainly in landscape) the photos are crooked leaning to the side. I have to adjust them in post. I've been shooting for 8 years and I've NEVER had this issue. Is this something that can be corrected within the camera? Thanks!
I, for one, would like to see an example of a tilted photograph. And if you could, please post one from your previous camera as well. Thanks in advance.

Is your new D750 under factory warranty?

What camera were you using before?
Is the D750 + lens significantly heavier than your prior camera?
Are you hand holding or shooting off a tripod?

There are actually several/many reason that the image will be tilted.
  • Some people press/shove the shutter release button hard, moving the right side of the camera down.
  • Some people do not level the camera before they shoot.
    • I turn on the grid in my viewfinder to help me level the scene, because I know I have this problem. I used a P screen in my F2, way back then, for the same reason, to help me level the image in the camera.
  • Your eyes.