New Camera

Axel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Well, it's not new, but very little used; all in all about one week!

It's a Nikon N50 with a Sigma 35-80mm, F4-5.6 DL-II

We got it all for $150 and we found it cheap and an ok buy since we pretty much are beginners.

What I wonder is about the aperture ring. It's almost impossible to see since it is covered by the little flash thing that peeks out from the top of the body. How will I be able to see the exposure? Can I take completely manual pictures with it, or do I have to use one or more automated features all the time?

Also, what is your opinion of the camera? Is it a good camera? A realiable camera?

Let me know please.

Thank you

OK, since I'm fairly new to photography (haven't shot anythihg for years but did it a lot way back when so I have my needs...) I wonder if the high end films are worth it if I wasn tot put the pictures on a CD AND on paper. I am thinking of the Kodachrome and that class of films. Or shoud I go with cheaper stuff? As indicated above, I have an N50 Nikon which isn't a big deal, but definitely seems to be enough for my needs for now!

Thanks you

Axel said:
What I wonder is about the aperture ring. It's almost impossible to see since it is covered by the little flash thing that peeks out from the top of the body. How will I be able to see the exposure?

Many of the fancy smancy new (1995 on) AF 35mm SLRs want you to set the aperture ring on "A", and manually control via buttons on the body. You should be able to see what aperture you are setting in the viewfinder or on the LCD screen on the body if you have one.