New computer - Apple or Windows?

Griz22

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all. I'm new to photography haven just acquired a D5500 w kit lens.

Simultaneously my computer reached the end of its life last week.

I have zero experience in post-processing.

Is there a preference for apple vs Windows software? Or are they the same?

From what I gather, monitor selection will be important. Does this make the iMac 5k more attractive?

Thanks for your thoughts.

All depends on your budget. I like apple and have been using a macbook pro for about 5 years now and will never go back.

I just tried out the new 5k iMac and they are pretty sweet! If you have the money, don't look elsewhere.

Just make sure to upgrade the RAM and processor and you'll have no problems.

I just purchased a new computer specifically for photography, and I found this page very helpful: Mac vs. PC for Photographers: The ULTIMATE Guide

Down at the bottom he shares the recommended requirements for a computer. I basically just plugged those in and bought the computer that popped out, which ended up being a Dell XPS with a 30" UltraSharp monitor. It literally just arrived, so I haven't had a chance to really use it, but it seems incredible so far.

Is there a preference for apple vs Windows software? Or are they the same?
Some softwares are available in either platform.

Each platform has some softwares that are not available on the other platform.

If you are used to one platform, the switching over might take some getting used to.

Generally, Apple (hardware) is more expensive than the typical Windows machine.

Apple has discontinued support for Aperture, which is what I use on my iMac.

Apple has decided that every Mac user shall use and like their particular default software for photos, whether it suits your purposes or not. I have put the default software aside and use only Aperture3 now.