New Lens Advice

HeldInTheMoment

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello 'ThePhotoForum' Community!

I am very excited to have just joined this site and look forward to adding to the community in any way I can. Though, I will admit that I have a quick question for you all.

I have been a Photo Hobbyist for a while now, just using my D3200 with the kit lenses. I have ventured into taking Event Photos for friends and family. If all goes well, I might have something small on the site for local events...but that isn't very important here.

The question I have is, what lens should I add to my camera bag for events such as Weddings, Vow Renewals, etc? Like I shared before, I have a D3200 (for now), and want to stay within a budget if possible. Any recommendations?

want to stay within a budget if possible
What is your budget?

I'd recommend faster glass than your kit lenses for weddings/events. Also, you'll probably want some lighting/flashes/triggers/etc.

I am getting the Aperlite YH-700N, from the reviews I have seen this is a great flash for a even better price...the Aperlite YH-500N is similar but seems to have 1-2 less features, figure if I'm gonna do it, do it right. Unless you think I should save the $30 and stay with the YH-500N model?

I have a remote trigger, tripod, etc. I will get more flashes as time goes on, but I think a lens is more important. I know this is a LOW budget for lenses, but sticking around $200 would be GREAT!

I would suggest as prime lens the 35/1.8, as it will behave like a 50mm on your sensor, while giving a large aperture and not being very expensive. You might also check for the 50/1.8*, which is better suited for portraits.

If you do not feel comfortable by changing lenses or zooming with your feet (i.e. Go closer or more far away if the framing doesn't feel right), a good zoom lens on the D3200 will be the 18-300.