New Lighting Kit C&C

smithphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all. I'm completely new to TPF but this seams a much better place to receive and give advice compared to many other places I have searched recently. So, on to the good stuff.

I have always loved photography and shown it as always being 'That odd guy that always has a camera'. Just recently I finally bit the bullet and purchased a cheap lighting kit. Mainly just for the use of teaching myself the basics of portrait lighting and having some equipment to abuse later on down the road. I'll post a few images from my first shoot with the kit for C&C.

One note: I was shooting for a 'dramatic' look to the photos. This is obviously not something I would consider for school type photos ;)

JTCB_1003bwedit.jpg

JTCB_1000.jpg

JTCB_0976bweditframe.jpg

JTCB_0973bwedit.jpg

This was from a timer and a tripod. Bad comp I know.

So this is just a few. Wanted to get some feedback. Thanks guys.

I agree that they are too dark. Seems like the fcus is pretty soft too, but that may just be my eyes. Kuddo's to you though for teaching yourself. I'm sure you will be happy with the results after a few more tries.

I like the poses, but I'm afraid as the images go overall I don't see 'dramatic' I simply see 'underexposed'.

The kit isn't all that great, but like I said, it was just to get my feet wet.

Brand AlkiPhoto
2x 150 watt strobes
1x 110 watt strobe
each with a 70w modeling bulb
two small soft boxes
snoot, barndoor, filters, ect..
remote trigger, sync cords,
1x gold umbrella
white/black/gray backdrops

I think thats about it...I know eventually i'll need much more power but hopefully i can make do with this for now.

I agree with whats been said, these are underexposed. Also, how far were your lights? Maybe they were a little too far away. I'm struggling w/ lights too! Not much help but I wish you luck and have fun!