New MacBook Pro & CS2

Discussion in 'Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery' started by JohnMF, Sep 13, 2006.

  1. JohnMF

    JohnMF TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    I've just ordered a MacBook Pro (thankyou Visa) and now i've just read on the net somewhere that CS2 doesnt really run too good on it. Which concerns me abit 'cos that's all its going to be used for

    Is anyone running this setup, and can you tell me what the performance is like?
     
  2. Arch

    Arch Damn You! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    8,487
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    locked in the attic
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    hmmm.... iv never heard that before..... i dont use mac books but with the spec they have, i cant see them ever having a problem with CS?....:confused:
     
  3. JohnMF

    JohnMF TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    just done a bit more reading on the Adobe website. it's something to do with the fact that new macs use intel processors. CS2 and most other non apple products wont run on these systems without using an emulator called rosetta, which slows everything down. have to wait for CS3 for it to be fully compatable. it's a bit of a bummer
     
  4. zedin

    zedin TPF Supporters Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Irvine, Orange County, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    However.. since you can run windows on the new macbook pros you could always install windows and then CS2 for windows (since it uses intel processors). However then you need to read up on the whole issue with HDD access when installing windows since they use some wierd outdated driver. And it is not that CS2 won't run but it just runs slower since it must be translated via the rosetta stone program to run.
     
  5. astrostu

    astrostu Guest

    It'll be fine. Yes, it's because CS2 is not in Universal Binary format, so it does not run natively on Intel processors. However, OS X has the layer called "Rosetta" built into it that converts all the code at approximately 80% speed to run on the Intel machine, so if, for example, you have a 2.0 GHz machine, then CS2 should run as if it were on a 1.6 GHz machine, which really isn't that bad unless you're manipulating images that take up like 100 MB. CS3 should come out by next summer, I think.
     
  6. Hfry

    Hfry TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You wont have a Problem what so ever. As longs as there is Plenty Of allocated memory to CS2. Photoshop needs Like i dunno a couple megs to keep clean and run Smoothly. But... for the most part you'll be ok. IF Storage space starts getting sketchy just purchase an External Hard Drive. Good luck.
     
  7. niccig

    niccig TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I use a macbook pro, and CS2. At first I had problems with CS2 being sloooooow, but then I upgraded my RAM from 512MB to 1GB. It made a HUGE difference. The only complaint I've had since then is that if I'm running a bunch of applications at once (Photoshop, Lightroom, GoLive, Firefox is what I usually have open), GoLive has a habit of crashing, which can be a little annoying. That may be solved with more RAM, but it's not enough of an issue to pay for another upgrade. I don't think you'll have any problem at all. BTW, if you need extra RAM, I'd recommend www.macsales.com. It's WAY cheaper than buying it from Apple.
     
  8. JohnMF

    JohnMF TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    i have 1 gig of ram installed so i should just about be ok then.

    thanks for the link too
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

2012 macbook pro adobe cs2

,

can i install cs2 on my new macbook pro

,

can i load cs2 onto a new macbook pro

,

can you run cs2 on new macbook

,

cs2 code macbook pro

,

cs2 on new mac book pros

,

cs2 won't install macbook pro

,

cs2 wont install on macbook pro

,

how to install cs2 on new macbook pro

,

why cant i install cs2 on mac book pro 2012