New old rookie has another question.... film type?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by jdmartin8, Jan 5, 2005.

1. jdmartin8

jdmartin8 TPF Noob!

First, I'm overwhelmed by all the folks who welcomed me to this forum. Thank you very much.... It's nice to feel like I belong....

As you probably know, I'm just getting started in photography, but I know that I want to concentrate my efforts on becoming a GOOD landscape photographer.

My question is, if I wanted to shoot B&W, would Ilford Pan F (ISO 50) be a good start? I've done B&W photography before, about 25 years ago when I was in the Navy. At that time I was using a Canon AT-1, and had learned how to use that manual camera pretty well. Now I am using a Pentax MX-50, and in the aperture priority mode.

I want to shoot some color shots as well, and it appears that the FujiFilm Superia and Superia Reala (ISO 100) might be good choices.

I just want some input on these questions from all the good folks here.

Thanks again for all the nice welcome messages....

Jim

2. MDowdey

MDowdey Guest

mmm...pan f is indeed a great place to start. its a low iso, low grain black and white film that yields amazing contrast and shadow depth. make sure to have your tripod and you should be off to a good start!

also, if you are doing black and white landscapes, try using an orange or even a red filter. it ups the contrast and makes for neat artistic shots.

md

3. Tuna

Tuna Supermodel

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I shoot a lot of B&W film and Ilford is an excellent film. However, lately, I have been spoiled by Kodak T400CN film - great tonal range and sharpness. But the main thing I like about it is that you get great quality AND it is C-41 process so I can get it processed and back in about a half of an hour at my local minilab. I would definitely recommend trying a roll.

By the way, welcome to the forum!

Tuna

4. sbalsama

sbalsama TPF Noob!