New photographer - feedback on photos wanted!

patrick.villanueva

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

Just started photographing in early January so still getting use to all terminology and information. But since starting, I've been trying to take pictures of anything and everything I think would serve as decent objects for my photos. Could you please take a look at my Flickr account and provide feedback? I welcome all feedback as this is the only way I'm going to learn!

As a note, I've been doing some minor editing in Gimp. I'm still learning on that platform as well so sorry if the editing on these photos are funky!

Thanks,
Patrick

You tend to favor a fairly warm white balance on most of your shots. In indoor lighting, most cameras tend to favor that warmer, more yellowish look. I personally do not like it much, but some people DO favor a warmer color in indoor lighting, and it seems that people in the UK tend to be mnor accepoting of yellowish indoor imnages than many North America people (maybe due to their mass media trends, which are similar).

I dunno...it is early days for you. You are doing okay so far.

I would get a photography book from the library. Not a website or YouTube visit, but an actual BOOK about photography. somenthing that has a framework it is built around. SOmething that was written, and edited, and published, and which was considered valuable enougnh for people to have payed $24.95 for. Not something free and 3 minutes on YouTube. Not some click-bait shortcut hack-filled web blog, but an actual book on some type of photographic method.

Photography is not about the modern "tips and tricks" stuff, but some basic stuff, long written down by book authors. John Hedgecoe is a GREAT instructor. Michael Freeman is good too, but in a different way. Bryan F. Peterson's VERY-newest book is actually the best one I've seen from him, and he's been an author for 30+ years.